Quick answer. Yes. All four members' clubs in Brighton and Hove take visitors, but each has its own rules. Dyke asks you to book up to two weeks ahead, Brighton & Hove only lets visitors on from 12pm, East Brighton publishes no restriction, and West Hove has weekday mornings and weekend afternoons. Only Brighton & Hove says outright that no handicap certificate is needed. Checked 31 October 2026.
You turn up at a club in a collared shirt, clubs in the boot, and the pro shop tells you the course is booked or visitors can't go out until the afternoon. Nothing ruins a Saturday faster. Here's what each club says before you drive up the hill.
In Brighton and Hove
| Club | Visitor times | Booking | Handicap rule | 18 holes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dyke | Weekend fee applies after 12.30 | Online up to two weeks ahead, pay in full | Not stated | £70 weekday, £80 weekend |
| Brighton & Hove | From 12pm every day | Pre-book up to five days ahead | No certificate needed | £42 weekday, £48 weekend |
| East Brighton | No restriction published | Online (intelligentgolf) | Not stated | £50 midweek, £60 weekend |
| West Hove | Weekdays from 9am, weekends from 2pm | Online three days ahead, or call | Not stated | Varies on the tee sheet |
Dyke. Check in at the Pro Shop and arrive 30 minutes before your tee time. Dress is a collared or golf-specific top and golf shoes, with no jeans, cargo trousers or gym wear. No phone calls on the course. The BN1 8YJ postcode won't get your sat nav to the clubhouse.
Brighton & Hove. It is nine holes played from 18 tees, so an 18-hole round is two laps. Don't arrive without a booked time. Golf shirt or collar and golf shoes, no tracksuits.
East Brighton. The club says special rates are available online at off-peak times, so check the tee sheet before paying the standard fee.
West Hove. The visitor green fee is dynamic. We saw £33 to £46 for a Monday in November and £45 on a Saturday, from the online tee sheet. That's not a published rate.
The nearby ring
| Club | About | Visitor times | Handicap rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pyecombe | 12 min | From 9:30am Mon/Tue/Thu, 11am Wed/Fri, midday weekends | Societies have a notional limit, visitors not stated |
| Mid Sussex | 20 min | Open to the public, time bands by price | Not stated |
| Lewes | 20 min | Visitors of all abilities | Not stated |
| Peacehaven | 22 min | Book up to 21 days ahead | Not stated |
| Hill Barn | 28 min | Tee times online | Not stated |
| Worthing | 28 min | Weekdays from 10am, weekends from 11am | CDH number and recognised handicap required |
| Haywards Heath | 30 min | Weekends after 12pm, County Card weekdays after 1pm | Not stated |
| Seaford | 30 min | Pre-book 10 days ahead | Not stated |
| Lindfield | 32 min | Seven days a week, phone for tee times | Not stated |
Worthing is the strict one. Visitors book through the pro shop by phone up to six days ahead, and everyone needs a CDH number. Horton Golf Club in Henfield is a small volunteer-run members' club and doesn't take visitors, so it's not on this list.
What "not stated" means
We only write down what a club's own pages say, so "not stated" just means the page is silent. There may well be a rule behind it. If a handicap certificate matters to you, ring the pro shop first. Societies often get different terms from individual visitors, which muddies things further.
County Card and cheaper ways in
Several clubs take a County Card on weekdays. Dyke is £50, Brighton & Hove £36 (weekday) and £40 (weekend), West Hove £35, and Pyecombe £45 in the morning and £40 in the afternoon. Brighton & Hove also has a James Braid Association rate. If you're after the lowest price with no rules to read, pay and play golf is the simpler route.
A short checklist
- Check the visitor start time for the day, not just the club's general policy.
- Book first, then drive.
- Pack golf shoes and a collared shirt.
- If you're unsure about the handicap rule, call.